Bishop John O. Barres will ordain five men to the permanent diaconate for the Diocese of Rockville Centre on Saturday, June 1, 2019 at 10:30 a.m. in Saint Agnes Cathedral. The Catholic Faith Network will broadcast the Ordination Mass live on Optimum channel 29/137, Verizon Fios channel 296 and Time Warner Cable channel 471. Viewers can also watch the online at

A deacon is a member of the clergy and an ordained minister of the Catholic Church. There are three groups, or “orders,” of ordained ministers in the Church: bishops, presbyters and deacons. Deacons are ordained as a sacramental sign to the Church and to the world of Christ, who came “to serve and not to be served.” The entire Church is called by Christ to serve, and the deacon, in virtue of his sacramental ordination and through his various ministries is to be a servant in a servant Church.

The five men who will be ordained are:


Michael George Boldizar
Church of St. Anne, Garden City



Joseph Paul Guglielmo
Church of St. Mary, East Islip



Albert Gerard Matousek
Church of St. Bernard, Levittown



Christopher Paul Quinn
Church of St. Martin of Tours, Bethpage


Ivan Toro
Church of St. Hedwig, Floral Park