Photos by Timeless Creations Photography

Bishop William Murphy ordained 14 men to the diaconate on Saturday, May 18, in Saint Agnes Cathedral.

A deacon is a member of the clergy and an ordained minister of the Catholic Church. There are three groups, or “orders,” of ordained ministers in the Church: bishops, presbyters and deacons. Deacons are ordained as a sacramental sign to the Church and to the world of Christ, who came “to serve and not to be served.” The entire Church is called by Christ to serve, and the deacon, in virtue of his sacramental ordination and through his various ministries is to be a servant in a servant-Church.

The 14 men ordained are:

Rene Orlando Alvarado, St. John of God, Central Islip
Jose Domingo Arevalo, St. Luke, Brentwood
Vincent Joseph Barreca, Jr.,Resurrection, Farmingville
Joseph Frank Bianco
Ronald Edward Federici, Cure of Ars, Merrick
Edward John Karan, Our Lady of the Snow, Blue Point
Frank Louis Kurre, Notre Dame, New Hyde Park
Orlando Alexis Mancilla, St. Luke, Brentwood
Rodolfo Bartolome Martin, St. Aidan, Williston Park
Gregory Thomas Nardone, St. Patrick, Bay Shore
Joseph Eric Oliva, Maria Regina, Seaford
John Salvatore Panzica, St. Gerard Majella, Pt. Jefferson Sta.
Ralph Joseph Rivera, Holy Cross, Nesconset
William August Weiss, St. Kilian, Farmingdale