The Sisters of Mercy have served our Our Lady of Mercy parish, Hicksville for many years, so it seemed fitting that they would be the honorees at this year’s Our Lady of Mercy School Gala held on recently at the Woodbury Country Club.

School parents as well as parishioners whose children attended the school many years ago came to celebrate and thank the Sisters for their dedication to the children of the parish. After the over 300 guests found their seats in the banquet room, Sean Carney, chairman of the event, led the applause as the honorees were led in by the St. Anthony High School Celtic Pipe Band. Many of the Sisters who had served the parish over the years returned to celebrate with those who still work in the rectory and school.

Pictured: Front Row: Sister Elizabeth Slattery, Sister Mary Seton, Sister Madeline Moore, Sister Patricia O’Connell, Sister Eileen Lawlor, Sister Mary Albert, Sister Mary Assunta, Sister Anne Lynch

Back Row: Mr. Sean Carney (Gala Chairman) , Sister Suzanne LePre’, Sister Mary Winifred, Sister Jeannie Toppin, Sister Anne Carron, Legislator Laura Schaefer, Mrs. and Mr. Edward Magano, Legislator Rose Marie Walker, Sister Margaret Hartigan, Sister Regina Williams, Sister Maureen McDade, Sister Sharon Kelly.